Back to 2016


A talented group for Berlin

January 2016

British Council is again thrilled to be a partner of Berlinale Talents, the annual summit and networking platform of the Berlinale for 300 outstanding creatives from the fields of film and drama series.

The six-day programme (Feb 13-18) will include more than 100 events, including expert masterclasses and workshops (and a visit by Meryl Streep, the Berlinale’s 2016 jury president).

The 300 Talents were chosen from 2,761 applicants from 137 countries.

British Council is one of the founding partners of the programme – we’ve been on board since the first event, which kicked off in 2003 under the name Berlin Talent Campus. In addition to offering support towards travel and accommodation of all the UK participants, we’re delighted to help nominate UK experts to shepherd Talent sessions, and this year will also be hosting a special breakfast for the Talents focussing on the UK industry.

Berlin Talents 2016 will welcome 23 delegates from the UK. They are:

  • Baff Akoto (director, producer)
  • Philippe Audi-Dor (director, screenwriter)
  • Yaw Basoah (producer)
  • Sarah Brocklehurst (producer)
  • Liz Chege (film critic/journalist)
  • Eleonore Cremonese (production designer/art director)
  • Soraya Gilanni (production designer/art director, director)
  • Irune Gurtubai (producer)
  • Chris Hees (producer)
  • Thomas Kimberley (sales agent)
  • Dean Loxton (director)
  • Francesca Massariol (production designer/art director)
  • Alistair Murray (sound designer, composer)
  • Joshua Neale (director)
  • Douglas Ray (director, screenwriter)
  • Benjamin Sharrock (director, screenwriter)
  • Margareta Szabo (producer, actor)
  • Abofazl Talooni (editor)
  • Anna Teeman (producer, screenwriter)
  • Mayou Trikerioti (production designer/art director)
  • Anna Valdez Hanks (cinematographer)
  • Alex Winckler (director)
  • Philipp Zakrzewski (producer, editor)

Talents is funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, in cooperation with Creative Europe MEDIA, Robert Bosch Stiftung and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.